Welcome!

Hi expecting parents,

As a doula in training here in lovely Jamaica Plain, I have decided to start blogging my experiences, things I’ve learned so far and anything that I feel will be useful to pregnant mothers and expecting parents. I have been a resident of JP going on two years now and I am a firm believer in keeping things local and giving back to the community at large. While working as a nanny for the past year, I have met quite a few wonderful mothers and moms-to-be. I love feeling connected to the families I work for, as well as the familiar faces I see at Curtis Hall, the “tot lot”, the library and all the other baby happenings around town. My hope is to continue working for the community by providing my doula services and empowering mothers in their birth process.

So far, I have attended three amazing births and just committed to my final volunteer birth for a lovely mama with an estimated due date the end of August. Come September, I will be officially certified! I am beyond excited to potentially have the honor to attend the births of the wonderful women of JP and other surrounding areas of Boston. I remain in complete awe of the birthing process, as well as the strength and beauty I see in the laboring mothers I have met thus far.

As my first official blog entry, I am going to keep it short and sweet! I look forward to meeting new and wonderful people through this process and please feel free to contact me with any thoughts, ideas and questions you have.

-Rachel

Leave a Reply

